Empowering Local Businesses
Home city guide trichy airport joins the etourist visa club

Trichy Airport Joins the eTourist Visa Club

Tiruchirappalli international airport (IATA: TRZ, ICAO: VOTR), popularly called as Trichy airport is one among the three international airports in the southern state of Tamil Nadu. Located on the National Highway 210, the Tiruchirappalli international airport serves the metropolitan city of Trichy and the neighboring districts, including Thanjavur, Namakkal, Permabalur, Karur, Ariyalur, Dindigul and Pudukottai. Owned by the Ministry of Civil Aviation of Government of India and operated by the Airports Authority of India (AAI), the Trichy airport is regarded as one of the fastest-growing airports in the country.

Trichy Airport

Owing to its strategic location, national and international passenger traffic, facilities, maintenance, international and domestic air traffic and development, the Trichy airport is now one of the designated e-Tourist visa facility extended airports in India. The airport has been formally approved as one of the entry points for foreign nationals getting in with e-tourist visas, which is nothing but an online visa issue arrangement introduced by the Government of India. Let's get to know more about the Tiruchirappalli international airport getting e-tourist visa system in detail.

Tiruchirappalli International Airport Commences E-Tourist Visa System

e-Toruist Visa

Trichy airport set to roll out e-visa facility along with fifteen other specified airports in India,  which have been okayed as entry points for foreign nationals inbound India with e-tourist visas. While nine airports, including Chennai International Airport, were already sanctioned, Tiruchirappalli and six other airports - Sri Guru Ram Dass Jee International Airport, also known as Amritsar International Airport, Gaya Airport, also known as Bodhgaya Airport, Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel International Airport, also known as Ahmedabad Airport, Jaipur International Airport, Chaudhary Charan Singh International Airport, also known as Lucknow Airport, and Lal Bahadur Shastri International, also known as Varanasi Airport - have been expanded to the forward-looking e-Tourist Visa system now.

e-Toruist Visa Facility in Trichy Airport

Visitors from over one hundred countries, including USA, China, United Kingdom, Japan, Australia, Argentina, Russia, Spain, Mexico, France, Philippines, UAE, Canada, Seychelles, Germany, New Zealand, Georgia, Brazil, Portugal, The Netherlands, Israel, Sweden, Indonesia, Sri Lanka, Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand, and Mauritius could use the new visa facility. With the introduction of this new visa system, visitors from foreign countries can apply for visas through the official portal of the Government of India www.indianvisaonline.gov.in, minimum of four days beforehand of their arrival. Furthermore, tourists can make online fee payment and would be needed to reach the specified airports with just a hard copy (printout) of the e-tourist visa. The validity of the tourist visas would be thirty days (single entry visa) from the arrival date. Biometric particulars of the visitor will be compulsorily taken on arrival in India.

Inauguration of e-Tourist Visa at the Trichy International Airport

The e-tourist visa facility can be availed for a maximum of two visits to India in a calendar year. The owner of the Trichy airport, that is, the Airports Authority of India (AAI), the National Informatics Centre (NIC) and the Bureau of Immigration (BoI) fixed up necessary arrangements at the Tiruchirappalli international airport for the launching of this new visa system. Exclusive equipments, counters and other installations like biometric identification machines, computers, high-end passport readers, and web cameras and so on have been set up. In addition, a team of highly trained immigration team is also at the service. The e-tourist visa (non-convertible and non-extendable) system became operational at the Tiruchirappalli International Airport from August 16, 2015.

e-Tourist Visa Desk at the Trichy Airport

With the introduction of the e-tourist visa system, tourists from around the globe, especially from the Asian countries like Singapore, Malaysia and Sri Lanka can visit the southern Indian state of Tamil Nadu as a part of their pilgrimage, in a short notice, with no hassle whatsoever.


Documents Required for E-Tourist Visa:
1. Scanned first page of passport in PDF file format, which is not more than 300 KB
2. Digital photograph to be uploaded where height and width are equal, front view, eyes open, full face with white background and no borders

E-Tourist Visa Fee:
US$ 60/- per passenger (non-refundable)

Visa Processing Time:
3 days

30 days from the date of arrival in India

E-Tourist Visa Help Desk (24 * 7 Support):
Phone Number: +91-11-24300666
Email: indiatvoa@gov.in

E-Tourist Visa Application Process:
Step 1: Apply online
Step 2: Pay visa fee online
Step 3: Receive e-tourist visa via e-mail
Step 4: Print e-tourist visa to be carried at the time of travel

Explore more about Trichy Specials

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries